In these times, what gives?


Having recently graduated, I am faced with searching for a job in a pretty dreadful economy.  The expectation that  my MBA would result in quick, solid employment was clearly wrong, and my initial excitement about the new adventure has been slowly eroding, leaving only self doubt.  This has been compounded by news from friends and family that their retirement savings have shrunk, that they’re being laid off from work, or that they’re losing their home.  A sense of defeat and despair is almost overwhelming, and the news media does little to inspire hope for a brighter tomorrow.

So what can a job seeker do?  Well, one possibility is to revise the criteria for our job search.  I have seena  number of my peers make tough decisions, having to accept a smaller salary or a less than ideal position or location.  Alternatively, we can try to wait it out, accepting part-time work or taking on volunteer projects to help fill the days as we wait out a great opportunity.  Certainly, either of these options must be accompanied by a shift in perspective – a recognition that while things may not have gone exactly the way we planned, there is still so much to be grateful for.

Of course, it is one thing to look at this dilemma from the outside and quite another to be stuck in the midst of the quandary.  On the one hand, I know I’ve made my job search immensely more difficult by maintaining a geographic focus on Detroit; after all, the state of Michigan has led the country in unemployment for quite some time, and the city itself has faced a rate that is consistently much, much worse.  On the other hand, I can’t ignore the excitement that bubbles from my very core when I explore the city, hear about the victories of its residents, or talk with others about its immense opportunity I see there.   I also know that people’s suggestion I expand my search inspires a reflex to defend my dream.  I’ve come to consider this time a trial; after all, if I can’t handle a few months without full-time employment, am I really up to the challenge of living in the city of Detroit?

And so it is with a renewed sense of purpose and determination that I continue my search in Detroit.  I can only hope that my willingness to step out on faith will (eventually) pay off.  Of course, I’ll take all the positive thoughts you’re willing to send my way!

4 thoughts on “In these times, what gives?

  1. Sounds like you’ve got your head screwed on right, Tammie. I’ve heard interviews on NPR where new college grads have wildly unrealistic expectations, especially given the economic circumstances we’re in today.

    My modest advice would be to identify those nonprofits that are doing work you feel is truly important and impactful and find your “in” regardless of whether the position is just right.

    In great organizations, good people are recognized for what they bring to the table and are soon put to better use. The trick is finding those organizations; there are far more that are blind to what they’ve got.

    Good luck with your search!

    • Thanks for your kind words and great advice, Dan. I think you are spot-on. I really appreciate you stopping by!

  2. This will-do attitude is why I love you so, Tammie, and why you are an enormous asset to those orgs you work with in the community. You are right about the trial time and I am petrified of losing your talent and willing spirit. You are just what our region needs. Keep it up, girl!

Leave a comment