Now more than ever


This week has brought yet another challenge to the city of Detroit.  City Councilwoman Monica Conyers pled guilty to taking money in exchange for her vote in the Synagro waste handling contracts.  While I’m thrilled that she didn’t drag it out in the fashion of former Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick, I’m frustrated that she hasn’t resigned from her position on City Council as of yet.

Does news like this tarnish my desire to move to the city of Detroit?  Not at all; in fact, I’m more motivated than ever before.   But maybe that has less to do with Monica Conyers, and more to do with this video which I ran across thanks to a tweet from @PhilanthropyCFP.

 

 

Why can’t the people of Detroit do the same thing?  Yes, the city council is a mess, but that doesn’t have to stop city residents from making the change.  Last summer I did an internship in Chicago and lived in the East Ukrainian Village.  It’s a good neighborhood, but there are occasionally some problems.  My street always felt safe, though, thanks to Johnny.  He would sit in front of his home in the afternoon and evening hours – in a beach chair right on the sidewalk.  There he kept an eye on the street, introducing himself to the people walking by and making introductions between neighbors.  He was like a one-man security force and community organizer. 

Of course, the city of Detroit has its own heroes, like Claire Nelson, store owner and co-founder of Open City.  Not only does she have a fabulous shop, she works hard to support other entrepreneurs in the city and serves as a spokesperson for Midtown.  Or take Carol Goss, CEO of the Skillman Foundation; she’s not interested in increasing the number of kids beating the odds – she wants to change the odds.  These women inspire me, but there are so many more people working hard to redefine the city.

And, of course, residents can help to transform the City Council through the upcoming election.  I think a lot of people are really eager for the opportunity.  (In fact, I was recently encouraged to move to the city by mid-July so that I could participate in the primaries.)  So here’s to hope!

3 thoughts on “Now more than ever

  1. I love this, Tam. I think the major thing I got from the NJ example is that people need something to focus on, to strive towards, a way to consider the assets that are right in front of them. But it also means *not* serving out of self interest, which is the issue that keeps rearing its head in Detroit and other cities. And that I am over. Over, over, over.

    I’m eager to see the film, I think it sounds brilliant. Thank you for sharing!

  2. I can’t wait for the film either!

    I think your point about not serving out of self interest is key. In recent weeks, Detroit has seen money intended for its libraries and public school system used for city operations (http://bit.ly/xKGsl), and school officials themselves taking money and supplies (http://bit.ly/CplAp). This occurs in the face of an atrocious graduation rate (http://bit.ly/DZCFK). It is time for the people of Detroit to demand integrity in its leadership, and for the city to put into place the systems needed to ensure adequate transparency and accountability. The city’s children need and deserve better!

  3. Please note: As of 6/29/09, Monica Conyers has resigned from her position with City Council effective 7/6/09.

Leave a comment